Home > Reflections > Two steps forward, one step back.

Two steps forward, one step back.

I’ve been busy the past few days with schoolwork and life, so there really wasn’t much time to write unfortunately. Still, most of the time I’d like to think that I’m taking the right steps forward.

On the whole, I had started the weeks strong. I had locked away my computer and holed myself in the study room outside my Guardian’s house. I’d spend as long as I could to sit down and concentrate on my work and learn to build up a reserve of discipline and calmness.

Think of it as a kind of Zen-mode, I guess.

But lately, I’ve been not keeping to this regime as strictly as I liked. My mind would wander and my hands would inch towards my laptop. And the next thing I know, I am submitting to temptation once more. A whopping 3 hours would then be wasted on the internet.

I’m kind of disappointed with my lack of self-discipline; it’ll need to be something That I’ll need to work on more.

But that’s not the point of today’s post. No, today’s highlight involves stumbling onto this comic by Zen Pencils the other day. Basically, the artist (Gavin) accepts quotes and then draw comics related to it.

I don’t know why, but the comics are incredibly powerful. Gavin managed to use a quote from someone else to deliver a message of his own. The link above will take you to one of my personal favorites: “Make Good Art.”

Make. Good. Art.

The quote is from Neil Gaiman, and his advice for people to make art whenever things are tough touched something in me. It made me pause to take a breath and really think about what I’m doing.

I guess you can say it appeals to my inner artist?

Regardless, Gaiman and Gavin convinced me that it’s okay to take time off to make art, that it’s okay to write, make crafts, design, draw, sing, compose, do any of the things that I love.

And I love losing myself in the Arts and Sciences, to learn the act of creation.

So I’ve been getting a bit more involved in Knowing MINDS, helping to smooth out the story while also designing the marketing stuff.

Of course, this doesn’t mean I’m not gonna be spending time in my schoolwork. I’m still doing what needs to be done, but maybe I’m not being as on top of it as I should.

So it’s like I’ve taken two steps forward, but then one step back. I’m taking time to work on art, which I find incredibly soothing and helps me be ready to face the growing workload. I’ve also been focusing more on my work initially, but now it’s petering out.

So now the challenge lies in finding a balance between work, art and stoning like an idiot.

My quest to pull myself out of the accolade race continues.

More updates to come soon.

Categories: Reflections
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

